Why Zuri?

Why Zuri?

One is never lonely as a developer, even as a self learner, the online community is always ready to help with media like Stack Overflow, w3Schools, YouTube etc. Despite these available resources, the journey of self-learning is difficult, walking that path is lonely and tough like a ship without rudder, you find yourself lost and uncertainty clouds your emotions.

There’s only so far one can go with theoretical knowledge, tutorial hell is a dreadful place to be a sheer purgatory that keeps drawing you back, you keep walking but you aren’t moving.

On my many walks around twitter, I stumbled upon Mark Essien and Zuri and eureka! I felt this is the next step for me. Having the kind of leadership Mark offers is important for growth and most importantly the COMMUNITY Zuri will offer excites me.

What are my goals?

The energy you get from synergizing and co-depending on a team is incomparable. That practical hands on experience Zuri Internship offers would do a lot in moving me forward in my journey in becoming a frontend developer. Seeing real world problems and solving them is another part I'm curious about.

Clarity and empathy is key when working in IT this is why learning soft skills are just as important as being a programmer. I believe in collaborating with team members I would learn skills like

  • communication

  • team work

  • time management
  • self-motivation
  • organizational-skills.

What do I hope to achieve?

I learnt that there are several stages one have to pass that indicates growth and shows you are moving forward and that you get a shirt after completing every stage. My goal is to get that shirt and I also hope by the end of the day I'm able to kickstart my dream career as a frontend developer.

Join the Zuri team.

Here are few links to basic tutorials for beginners in figma, git and javaScript.